Which stores may match a price?

Which US stores may match a competitor’s price, and which may adjust their own price after you buy. Checked October 19, 2026.

By WorthLast verified

Short answerA price match is a store policy that may match another retailer’s current price on an identical, in-stock item, or may adjust the store’s own price after you buy. Who sold the item matters, and marketplace sellers are commonly excluded. This table lists only rules checked on official pages on October 19, 2026.

Which stores may match a competitor?

Sort any column. “May match” means the retailer’s own page describes a match it may make. It does not mean the person at the register will say yes. A dash means that detail was not confirmed, so it is left out.The same table as JSONis there for anything that wants to read it.

Retailer price-match and post-purchase price-adjustment policies, last verified October 19, 2026.
Best Buy
Exclusions and sources

Marketplace sellers, on Best Buy or at a competitor. Member-only and loyalty prices. Clearance, open-box, and refurbished. Black Friday pricing, and competitor prices from the Thursday before Thanksgiving through Cyber Monday. Daily and hourly deals, bundles, out-of-stock items, and limited quantities.

Best Buy may match its own price between the store and BestBuy.com.

May matchBest Buy may match a price from its named list of 19 qualified competitors, at the time of purchase only.May matchBest Buy may match Amazon when the item is sold by Amazon. Marketplace sellers are excluded.15 daysBest Buy may adjust its own price during the return window: 15 days for a standard purchase, 60 days for My Best Buy Plus or Total, and 14 days for activatable devices. The device clock starts on the receipt.The competitor’s live ad or site. The item has to be the same brand, model, and color, new, and immediately available. Ask in store, in chat, or at 1-888-237-8289.
Target
Exclusions and sources

Other Target stores. Clearance, closeout, and refurbished items. Promotional gift-card offers. Target coupons.

Target may match a Target.com price to the local store. Target Circle deals can apply on their own.

Does not matchTarget does not match other retailers. Competitor price matching ended on July 28, 2025.Does not matchTarget does not match Amazon.14 daysTarget may adjust its own price for 14 days with a receipt.Show the live online price or ad on your phone at Guest Services. For a Target.com purchase, use chat or 1-800-591-3869.
Walmart
Exclusions and sources

Competitors. Marketplace and other third-party sellers. Clearance, Rollback, Black Friday, and Cyber Monday events. Other Walmart stores. The policy does not apply in Alaska, Hawaii, or Puerto Rico. A manager may decline the request.

An in-store purchase may match an identical, in-stock Walmart.com price at checkout. This does not apply to a purchase made on Walmart.com.

Does not matchWalmart does not match other retailers.Does not matchWalmart does not match Amazon.NoneWalmart.com purchases have no post-purchase price adjustment.Tell the associate at checkout.
Home Depot
Exclusions and sources

Marketplace, auction, and membership sites, including eBay, Wayfair, Costco, and Sam’s Club. Special-order and custom items. Clearance and closeout. Black Friday and flash sales.

Home Depot may match a homedepot.com price in the store.

May matchHome Depot may match a local store or an online price from Lowe’s, Menards, Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, or Target.May matchHome Depot may match Amazon when the item is sold and fulfilled by Amazon.—A screenshot or a link at the register. Online, ask in chat or by phone before you order.
Lowe's
Exclusions and sources

Marketplace and auction sites. Warehouse clubs. Clearance, open-box, and closeout. Special orders. Installation. One-time promotions of the Black Friday type. Loyalty and group pricing. A price that belongs to a different ZIP code.

May matchLowe’s Lowest Price Guarantee may match an identical in-stock item. The comparison includes price and shipping.May matchLowe’s may match Amazon when the item is sold by Amazon.com, not by a marketplace seller.No published windowLowe’s says to contact them after the purchase. No fixed post-purchase window is published.An ad, a site, a printout, or a photo for the associate. Online, use chat or phone.
Costco
Exclusions and sources

Resellers. Precious metals.

Costco.com does not match a warehouse price.

Does not matchCostco does not price-match other retailers.Does not matchCostco does not match Amazon.30 daysCostco may adjust its own price for 30 days if Costco’s price drops. At a warehouse, ask at the returns counter. On Costco.com, use the price-match form. The credit is described as arriving in 5 to 10 business days. A promo item has to be inside the promo dates and inside 30 days.The price-match form online, or the returns counter at the warehouse.
Amazon
Exclusions and sources

Amazon’s help page is about not matching other retailers. It does not publish a competitor list.

Does not matchAmazon does not match other retailers.Not applicableNoneNo general post-purchase price-drop refund was found on Amazon’s help page.There is no competitor-match request to file.
Micro Center
Exclusions and sources

Marketplace sellers. Clearance. Open-box and refurbished. Rebates, coupons, and bundles. Member-only prices. The item may need to ship within about seven days, and the match needs approval.

May matchMicro Center may match most major retailers and manufacturer sites, including Amazon and Newegg.May matchMicro Center may match Amazon when the item is sold and shipped by Amazon.—The exact model or UPC, and a live listing.
Staples
Exclusions and sources

Local and special events. Clearance. Timed sales. Black Friday and Cyber Monday. Services. In-store pickup orders. Third-party vendor products. Gift cards. One match per customer per item.

Staples may match its own lower price on an in-store purchase, refunding the difference if Staples or Staples.com is lower within 14 days.

May matchOn an in-store purchase, Staples may match an item sold and shipped by Amazon.com, or a retailer that sells both in stores and online under the same brand.May matchStaples may match Amazon on an in-store purchase when the item is sold and shipped by Amazon.14 daysThe 14-day window applies to an in-store purchase, against a lower Staples or Staples.com price or a qualifying competitor.Show the proof at the store’s customer-service desk.
Office Depot / OfficeMax
Exclusions and sources

Marketplace sellers, Office Depot’s or a competitor’s. Clearance and closeout. Out-of-stock items. Special orders. Black Friday and Cyber Monday. Rebates.

May matchOffice Depot may match a qualifying retailer at the time of purchase or within 14 days after, in stores and on officedepot.com.Not stated14 daysOffice Depot may match a competitor or refund the difference within 14 days.An ad, a photo of signage, or the online offer on your phone. Online, use chat or 1-800-463-3768.
Kohl's
Exclusions and sources

A coupon cannot stack on the matched item. Items excluded from coupons stay excluded.

Kohl’s stores may match a Kohls.com price.

May matchA Kohl’s store may match a competitor’s in-store local ad, not an online price. Kohls.com may match the online price of a direct competitor that also has physical stores.Does not matchKohl’s does not match Amazon. The site policy is limited to competitors that have stores as well as a website.—A printed local ad.
Macy's
Exclusions and sources

Direct-from-vendor items.

Does not matchMacy’s does not match other retailers.Does not matchMacy’s does not match Amazon.10 daysMacy’s may adjust its own price when that price drops within 10 days of the order.Ask Macy’s customer service.
Dick's Sporting Goods
Exclusions and sources

Marketplace sellers. Clearance. Buy-one-get-one offers. Rebates. Member-only prices. Limited-time promotions. Out-of-stock items.

May matchDick’s may match a retailer on its published list, including REI.Not stated14 daysDick’s may adjust a price for 14 days.A live link. Dick’s does not accept a screenshot.
REI
Exclusions and sources

The help page we checked is the no-match rule. It does not publish a competitor list.

Does not matchREI does not price-match other retailers.Does not matchREI does not match Amazon.—There is no competitor-match request to file.
Apple
Exclusions and sources

Limited-time promotions, including Black Friday.

Does not matchApple does not match other retailers.Does not matchApple does not match Amazon.14 days from receiptApple may adjust the price of an Apple-branded product when that price drops within 14 calendar days of receipt. Contact Apple within 14 days of the change.Contact Apple within 14 days of the price change.
Sam's Club
Exclusions and sources

Clearance and markdowns.

A Sam’s Club location may match another Sam’s Club price.

Does not matchSam’s Club does not match other retailers.Does not matchSam’s Club does not match Amazon.NoneNo post-purchase price guarantee is published.Ask at the club. There is no published guarantee to cite.
B&H Photo
Exclusions and sources

One match per item. The item has to be identical and immediately available.

DiscretionaryB&H may match an identical item that is immediately available. The match is discretionary, and it is one match per item.Not stated—Contact B&H.
Newegg
Exclusions and sources

Items without the Price Match Guarantee badge.

May matchNewegg may match a listed major retailer for 14 days after purchase, on an item that carries the Price Match Guarantee badge.May matchNewegg may match Amazon on an item that carries the Price Match Guarantee badge.14 daysThe match is a 14-day post-purchase request. The refund is issued as a Customer Care card.Newegg’s claim form.
Crutchfield
Exclusions and sources

The match is for most identical in-stock items against the manufacturer’s delivered price.

May matchCrutchfield may match a manufacturer site’s delivered price on most identical in-stock items.Not stated60 daysCrutchfield publishes 60-day protection if its own price drops.Contact Crutchfield with the manufacturer’s delivered price.
Abt
Exclusions and sources

The competitor has to be an authorized dealer of the identical model.

May matchAbt may match or beat a qualifying competitor for up to 30 days after purchase. The competitor has to be an authorized dealer, and the model has to be identical.Not stated30 daysThe competitor match may be requested for up to 30 days after purchase.Contact Abt with the competitor’s offer.

Who may adjust a price after you buy?

  • Best Buy15 days. Best Buy may adjust its own price during the return window: 15 days for a standard purchase, 60 days for My Best Buy Plus or Total, and 14 days for activatable devices. The device clock starts on the receipt.
  • Target14 days. Target may adjust its own price for 14 days with a receipt.
  • WalmartNone. Walmart.com purchases have no post-purchase price adjustment.
  • Costco30 days. Costco may adjust its own price for 30 days if Costco’s price drops. At a warehouse, ask at the returns counter. On Costco.com, use the price-match form. The credit is described as arriving in 5 to 10 business days. A promo item has to be inside the promo dates and inside 30 days.
  • AmazonNone. No general post-purchase price-drop refund was found on Amazon’s help page.
  • Staples14 days. The 14-day window applies to an in-store purchase, against a lower Staples or Staples.com price or a qualifying competitor.
  • Office Depot / OfficeMax14 days. Office Depot may match a competitor or refund the difference within 14 days.
  • Macy's10 days. Macy’s may adjust its own price when that price drops within 10 days of the order.
  • Dick's Sporting Goods14 days. Dick’s may adjust a price for 14 days.
  • Apple14 days from receipt. Apple may adjust the price of an Apple-branded product when that price drops within 14 calendar days of receipt. Contact Apple within 14 days of the change.
  • Sam's ClubNone. No post-purchase price guarantee is published.
  • Newegg14 days. The match is a 14-day post-purchase request. The refund is issued as a Customer Care card.
  • Crutchfield60 days. Crutchfield publishes 60-day protection if its own price drops.
  • Abt30 days. The competitor match may be requested for up to 30 days after purchase.

Stores with a dash in the table are not in this list. Their post-purchase rule was not on the page we checked, so this page does not invent a window for them.

What should you have in your hand?

The item has to be the same model, and it has to be in stock. On Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, and the other marketplaces, read who sold it. “Sold by Amazon” and “sold by a marketplace seller” are different offers, and the second one is the exclusion these policies name most often.

Bring a live page, not a memory of last night’s price. Dick’s says a screenshot is not enough. Target, Best Buy, and Walmart describe checking the price at the moment you ask. Holiday weeks are called out by Best Buy, Home Depot, Staples, Office Depot, and Walmart, which exclude Black Friday or Cyber Monday pricing.

Worth can name the item from a photo and show what stores and sellers are asking right now. It does not file the match, and it does not promise a store will take it. The policy is the page linked from the row.

What else do people ask?

Which stores may price-match Amazon?
Best Buy, Home Depot, Lowe's, Micro Center, Staples and Newegg publish a policy that may match an item sold by Amazon. Several of them also require that Amazon shipped it. A blank Amazon cell means that detail was not confirmed on the page we checked. It is not a claim that the store refuses.
Does Target still match other retailers?
No. Target’s current help pages do not match other retailers, including Amazon. Competitor matching ended on July 28, 2025. Target may still match a Target.com price at a local store, and it may adjust its own price for 14 days with a receipt.
What is a post-purchase price adjustment?
It is a refund of the difference when the same retailer’s own price drops after you buy, or when a competitor match is allowed after the sale. The window is different at each store, and some stores publish none. The table’s “After purchase” column is the window we could confirm.
Why does “sold by” matter more than the site name?
A listing on Amazon, Walmart, or Best Buy can be sold by the store or by a marketplace seller. The policies that may match Amazon say sold by Amazon, and sometimes sold and shipped by Amazon. A marketplace seller is the exclusion that shows up most often.
How current is this table?
Last verified October 19, 2026. Each row links to the official page that was checked. Policies change, and a row is a description of a published rule, not a promise that a cashier will approve your request.